Menu Back

Contact Back

Call Us Now!
Tap Here To Call Chat With Us!
Tap Here To Chat Send Us a Text/SMS
Contact Search Menu

Pennsylvania State Minimum Car Insurance

Many people see car insurance as a necessary evil. It’s something you don’t want to pay for. But, Pennsylvania laws require drivers to have insurance. So, people buy the least amount of car insurance required by the law. Is state minimum car insurance ever a good idea? Let’s take a look.

pennsylvania state minimum car insurance - car injury lawyer

The Problem With State Minimum Car Insurance

Most people call them “accidents” because no one plans to crash into another vehicle. Yet, many people on the road are dangerous drivers. How many of these drivers do you think have state minimum car insurance?

Your car insurance doesn’t cover just you. It covers your passengers and any people you might hurt. If you have a family, consider how you would pay for medical expenses after a car crash. You may be a cautious driver, but you’re not the only driver on the road.

Pennsylvania State Minimum Car Insurance Coverage

Let’s take a look at the car insurance coverage required by Pennsylvania. The listed coverage amounts are the minimum allowed by the state.

Bodily Injury Liability – $15,000 per person/$30,000 per accident

Bodily injury coverage pays for injuries you cause to another person. This includes other drivers, passengers, or pedestrians. Sadly, these low amounts don’t cover most car accident injury claims.

Property Damage Liability – $5,000

This coverage pays for damage you cause to another person’s car or someone else’s property. If you are at fault, this coverage helps cover the repair costs of the other driver’s vehicle. Or, if your vehicle leaves the road and damages a fence or house, this coverage would pay for repairs.

First Party Benefits – $5,000

With Pennsylvania car insurance, first party benefits help cover your own medical bills. The state requires drivers to carry $5,000 of first party medical coverage. This is often referred to as “personal injury protection.” Our paralegals call this the cheapest health insurance you can buy.

First party coverage extends to your passengers. Additionally, each passenger is eligible for the full amount of this benefit. $5,000 may sound like a lot, but it quickly runs out after an ambulance ride and visit to the ER. The average cost of an ER visit after a car crash is $3,300. That doesn’t leave much left for follow-up doctor visits or treatment. The average car crash-related hospital stay costs $57,000. More mind-blowing statistics about hospital liens.

insurance coverage can be confusing

Additional Insurance Options To Consider

State minimum insurance doesn’t really cover most car accident expenses. There are extra options to cover a rental car, lost income, and more. First party benefits can save you from financial ruin after a crash.

Uninsured Motorist Coverage – $15,000 per person/$30,000 per accident (optional)

If an uninsured driver hits your vehicle, this coverage applies to you and your passengers for bodily injury claims. Many people think they don’t need this coverage. But, this coverage is what you want in the event of a hit-and-run. Or, in the event that you are in a crash with an uninsured driver. Roughly 8% of drivers in PA are uninsured.

Uninsured motorist coverage starts at $15,000 of coverage. But, higher amounts of coverage are available. This coverage also applies in instances when you are injured by a car. You can access your own uninsured coverage as a pedestrian, bicyclist, or passenger in another car.

Underinsured Motorist Coverage – $15,000 per person/$30,000 per accident (optional)

Underinsured coverage helps pay when the at-fault driver reaches their liability limits. Many drivers depend on their underinsured coverage in situations like multi-vehicle crashes. When you’re in a crash with someone else using state minimum insurance, you’ll need underinsured coverage.

Much like uninsured coverage, people can use this coverage in situations when they are injured by another driver. Uninsured and underinsured coverage can help you when you’re injured as a pedestrian, bicyclist, or a passenger in another car.

What Does State Minimum Car Insurance Cover?

When you look at the coverage above, you quickly realize this money won’t cover much. If an accident puts you in the hospital, your medical bills will pile up fast! But also think of how long it takes to recover from broken bones or emergency surgery. How would you pay for food, electricity, and other household expenses? State minimum car insurance is a dangerous gamble.

If the at-fault driver only carries state minimum insurance, you realize why it’s important for you to have better coverage.

Additional Car Insurance Coverage To Consider

Collision Protection

If you need your car, you’ll want collision coverage. This benefit covers the repair of damage to your car as a result of a crash. Additionally, most banks require this coverage as a condition for vehicle financing.

Full Tort Coverage

Everyone, we mean EVERYONE, should carry full tort coverage on their car insurance. Check out this article for information on the difference between limited and full tort coverage. If you skimp on all other coverage, don’t pass on full tort coverage.

Other Coverages

Many insurance companies offer additional policy options. But, we aren’t able to cover all the available options here. Talk to your insurance agent to find any coverage you need.

injury claim law firm

Free Car Insurance Policy Review

Here at Haggerty & Silverman, we see the financial ruin that follows after a car crash. Our team is happy to review your car insurance policy with you and offer suggestions for better coverage.

Your Local Injury Law Firm

The legal team at Haggerty & Silverman helps injured people get the money they need. This money comes from insurance coverage – either yours or the at-fault person/business. If you have an injury, talk to one of our attorneys for free. Get free legal advice with no obligation.